Local Events - What's On in 2018

Make the most of your time in France and get a taste for some of the events that take place around the region. This is just a small sample of what is on offer; there are always many more events going on in the larger towns, such as Poitiers and Saumur. For those who are unfamiliar with the 'vide greniers' that are so popular in France, the term literally means 'empty attic' and involves the take over of villages by stalls full of bric-a-brac and antiquities. These are very sociable affairs, usually with music and street entertainment provided, and always food and a beer & wine tent!


Sunday 1st April. Brocante, Montreuil-Bellay

Sunday 1st April. Easter vide grenier, Airvault

Monday 2nd April. Easter Market, Airvault

Sunday 8th April. Vide grenier, Marnes

Sunday 29th April. Vide grenier, Chauvigny

Tuesday 1st May. May Day Vide grenier, Moncontour*

Sunday 13th May. Vide grenier, Ferriere-en-Parthenay*.

Sunday 20th May. Journee des moulins. Open day at the Moulin de Chollay, St Chartres.

Friday 1st June to Sunday 3rd June. Chinon jazz festival

Saturday 2nd & Sunday 3rd June. Rose festival, Chateau du Riveau

Sunday 3rd June. Festival of music & dance, Oiron

Monday 18th June. Vide Grenier, Ouzilly

Saturday 16th June & Sunday 17th June. Gala du Cadre Noir de Saumur. Stunning horsemanship displays by the world famous military riding academy.

Thursday 21st June. Fete de la Musique, Chinon

Saturday 23rd & Sunday 24th June. Festival of Painting & Sculpture, St Loup

Saturday 23rd & Sunday 24th June. Grand Prix historique, Bressuire. Vintage car grand prix.

Saturday 23rd & Sunday 24th June. Anjou Vélo Vintage, Saumur. Festival of vintage bicycles.

Sunday 24th June. Vide grenier, Loudun*

Saturday 7th July. Tour de France stage, Noirmoutier-en-Ile to Fontenay-le-Comte

Monday 9th July. Tour de France team time trial – 35 kms beginning and ending in Cholet

9th to 14th July. World Festival of Music and Dance, Airvault, with stalls and performances around the town and in the park alongside the river Thouet, plus concerts in the neighbouring villages.

Saturday 14th July. Fete Nationale celebrations, Moncontour. Torchlight procession & fireworks beside the donjon

Saturday 14th July. Fete Nationale open air concert in Airvault, followed by a dramatic fireworks display.

Friday 13th to Monday 16th July. Rose festival at Doue la Fontaine. Over 1000 exhibits in the gardens & troglodyte caves.

Friday 20th to Saturday 21st July. Le Carrousel de Saumur. The oldest public event in France and the first military show to feature equestrian skills.

Friday 20th to Sunday 22nd July. Festival Le Reve De L'aborigene - Airvault .

Saturday 21st & Sunday 22nd July. Festival of the Cape & Sword, Richelieu. Experience Cardinal Richelieu’s city as it was in the XVII century.

Saturday 21st & Sunday 22nd July. Grand Prix Retro, du Puy Notre Dame

Sunday 5th August. Medieval market & festival, Parthenay (St Jacques)

Sunday 5th August. 'Le sentier des lavoirs' historical re-enactment, Montcontour

Thursday 9th, Saturday 11th & Monday 13th August. Open air performance of Puccini’s ‘Tosca' in the gallo-roman amphitheatre at Sanxay.

Saturday 11th & Sunday 12th August. Chateau du Riveau medieval market and joust

Saturday 11th & Sunday 12th August. Festival ‘Country’, Vouillé

Sat 11th, Sun 12th & Mon 13th August. Medieval festival, Echiré (Chateau de Coudray-Salbert)

Monday 14th August. Donkey racing at Sauzeau

Saturday 26th August. Flea market and antiques, Airvault

Sunday 27th August. Vide grenier, Loudun

Friday 1st, Saturday 2nd & Sunday 3rd September. Hot Air Balloon festival, Thouars

Sunday 9th September. Pumpkin and vegetable festival, Chateau du Riveau.

Saturday 15th & Sunday 16th September. European Patrimony days. Entrance to many chateaux and places of interest is either free or heavily discounted this weekend.

Saturday 29th & Sunday 30th September. Gala du Cadre Noir de Saumur. Stunning horsemanship displays by the world famous military riding academy.

Sunday 21st October. Vide Grenier Chabournay

Saturday 27th & Sunday 28th October. Autumn flower festival, Chateau du Riveau.

Saturday 1st & Sunday 2nd December. Christmas market, Doue la Fontaine

Saturday 1st & Sunday 2nd December. Christmas market, St Loup

* Larger vide greniers

French Pubic Holidays 2018

1st AprilSundayEaster Sunday
2nd AprilSundayEaster Monday
1st MayTuesdayFETE DU TRAVAIL (Labour Day)
8th MayTuesdayVICTOIRE 1945 (Victory in Europe Day)
10th MayThursdayASCENSION DAY
20th MaySundayPENTECOTE (Whit Sunday)
21st MayMondayLUNDI DE PENTECOTE (Whit Monday)
14th JulySaturdayFETE NATIONALE (Bastille Day)
15th AugustWednesdayFEAST OF THE ASSUMPTION
1st NovemberThursdayALL SAINTS DAY
11th NovemberSundayARMISTICE 1918
25th DecemberTuesdayCHRISTMAS DAY
31st DecemberMondaySAINT SYLVESTRE (New Years Eve)